top of page
Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget

Starting The Week


The government may be shut down, but the weather continues! We had strong wind over the weekend, especially on Sunday. Gusts were reaching 50-55 mph at times. So, we had the good west Texas dirt and dust being blown around all day. There is still going to be some wind in the area today, but not as high as yesterday. Sustained wind this afternoon will be at 10-15 mph, with some gusts reaching 25 mph. Skies will stay sunny and we'll get to a high of 55°. That is right on the average for January 22. Unfortunately, the air will remain dry. Our deficit so far for 2018 is at .40" in terms of precipitation. The dry air has been here since mid-October. There is no relief in sight.

Over in New Mexico, snow fell over the weekend. Places like Taos, Red River and Ski Santa Fe picked up much needed powder. The snow-making machines can take a break and let the natural stuff take over. Since we're in a La Nina year, snow has been sparse over in the Rockies. All but Wolf Creek up in Colorado. They are basically 100% open. Ski season hasn't been the best, but there are still plenty of trails open at your favorite resorts. Hopefully we'll get a few late-season snow storms adding to the totals already seen in portions of the Rockies. That is certainly not out of the questions. Especially watch what happens in March.

Over the weekend, I had the opportunity to give two presentations about a career in television to Upward Bound students in Levelland. I can't thank them enough for giving me the opportunity to do so. I hope I was able to leave a positive message to the students and lead some of them into the television industry. There were great questions and they were all well behaved. I enjoy getting the shot to talk to students about my career because it's a unique business. The hours are not normal, that is for sure. I always like telling them that I wake up at 2:20 am on Monday-Friday and am at work by 3:30 am.

I hope everyone has a great week. As always, thanks for checking out the site. If you have any questions at all, feel free to shoot me an email at nkraynok@klbk.com.

bottom of page